Community Research and Development Information Service - CORDIS

User management policies

As part of the implementation of the CORDIS privacy notice , the following policies are applied to user information managed by CORDIS.

Definitions

User account:
Common set of CORDIS user information (username, password, first name, last name, email address, language preference).
MyAccount:
Web application allowing users to manage their account information.
CORDIS service:
A web application for a specific use and requiring a user account, i.e. Partners, Wire, and Notifier.
Service profile:
User information specific to a CORDIS service and associated with a user account.

Account validation

All user accounts require a unique and valid username and email address. When a new account is created, the user must validate their account, otherwise the account will be deleted. Any change to the email address will require the user to validate the new email address.

Service profile expiry

Users are considered as being active on a service if they sign in regularly.

After 12 months of inactivity in a specific service, certain inactivity actions are carried out for the user's service profile (see below).

After 24 months of inactivity in a specific service, the user's service profile is permanently deleted.

Email notifications are sent 1 month before each deadline. Signing into a service will extend the expiry date.

Account expiry

If the user is inactive in all services for 24 months, including MyAccount, the user account is deleted.

Usernames existing in Partners or Wire are reserved, i.e. they cannot be reused by a new user.

Actions for inactive or deleted users

Users inactive on a service

Users deleted from a service

Partners Search results: Inactive partners are marked as 'Archived'.

Past user activity is still linked to the user's full name, but clicking on the user's full name will display "Profile no longer active".

Data deleted from Partners: Pending requests (connections, recommendations, partnerships); sent group requests / invitations.

Search results: Deleted partners no longer appear in search results.

Past user activity is still linked to the user's full name, but clicking on the user's full name will display "Profile no longer active".

Data deleted from Partners: Everything except shared content (blog posts, calendar events, uploaded documents, content belonging to groups).

Wire All draft articles are deleted.

Content already uploaded is still available and linked to the user.

Notifier Email notifications are stopped. Saved searches are deleted.
Follow us on: RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube Managed by the EU Publications Office Top