Community Research and Development Information Service - CORDIS


Natura 2000 in the Alpine region

Funded under: FP5-EESD


The European Union has seven biogeographical regions, each with its own characteristic blend of vegetation, climate and geology. Natura 2000 sites are selected according to each region on the basis of national lists submitted by each Member State within that region. Working at this level makes it easier to conserve species and habitat types under similar natural conditions across a suite of countries, irrespective of political and administrative boundaries. Together with the Special Protection Areas designated under the Birds Directive, the Natura 2000 sites selected for each biogeographical region make up the ecological Natura 2000 network which spans all 25 countries of the EU.

Additional information

Authors: SUNDSETH K, Ecosystems LTD., Hong Kong (HK)
Bibliographic Reference: Luxembourg, Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2006. 11 pp, Free of charge
Availability: (Catalogue Number: KH-69-05-642-EN-C)
ISBN: ISBN: 92-894-9984-2
Follow us on: RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube Managed by the EU Publications Office Top