European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-06

Article available in the following languages:


"Nano Trip" to Ankara for young science journalists

Turkish labs working on organic lasers and metamaterials hosted a group of young journalists between 1 and 6 November, launching the EU programme ‘REsearch LAbs for TEaching Journalists’ (RELATE). The journalism students from five European universities visited Ankara as guests of Bilkent University Nanotechnology Research Center.

The project brought scientists face to face with next generation journalists in a two-way learning curve. The reporters shadowed and interviewed researchers, wrote daily blogs and produced a final article, audio or video piece. This helped demystify the research, be engaging, balanced and accurate, while exploring the possible impacts and benefits for society. The young journalists then pitched their work to mainstream and science media with the help of the European Journalism Centre. For a taste of their backgrounds: one has already written for a top Italian newspaper, and another has worked for the Lithuanian national broadcaster. The programme is building bridges across Europe: between scientists, journalists and the rest of society. It is also a showcase for cutting-edge cooperation between the EU and candidate countries. MORE LABS, MORE ROUNDS Later this month, seven young journalists will travel to ENEA (Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development) near Rome, then five more will visit EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) in Switzerland. These trips will cover the latest research into climate change, alternative energies and bioengineering. A second application window is open until 30 November 2009, feeding the following rounds in March and November 2010. Journalism students, particularly from new member states and candidate countries, are encouraged to apply online at:


Journalism, Science Communication


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom