European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-23

Article available in the following languages:


CommNet launches Impact Awards - recognising excellence in science communication

CommNet is today launching its Impact Awards for projects that have demonstrated excellence in communication of EU-funded research in the fields of food, agriculture and forestry, fisheries and aquaculture, and biotechnology.

These are the only awards in Europe to recognise the efforts that EU research projects make to communicate their work to stakeholders. Awards are available in four categories: Engaging citizens Engaging industry Engaging policy makers Inspiring young people Entries will be judged by a panel of CommNet partners and external expert judges. Shortlisted entries will be invited to present at the CommNet conference and awards ceremony in Brussels on 3rd December 2014 and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony that evening. Professor Judy Buttriss, Director General of the British Nutrition Foundation, the CommNet partner leading on the awards said “We all, as European tax-payers, contribute to European research funding but all too often the results of important research projects are not widely communicated. Areas like food, agriculture and biotechnology affect all of us every day in terms of what we eat and the environment around us. The CommNet Impact Awards aim to reward projects that have really shown an impact through the communication of their work to different stakeholder groups” The Impact Awards are officially launched as CommNet attends the European Science Open Forum in Copenhagen, Denmark from 21-26 June. The deadline for applications is 19th September 2014. For more information please contact: Marie Murphy, British Nutrition Foundation (attending ESOF) Bridget Benelam, British Nutrition Foundation +44 (0)20 7557 7930


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, United Kingdom