Community Research and Development Information Service - CORDIS

KALEIDOSCOPE programme - European Community support for culture

The European Commission, DG X, has launched a call for proposals under the Community's KALEIDOSCOPE programme for the support of artistic and cultural activities. Funding will be made available, under this call, for cultural projects and events starting in 1997.

The specific objectives of the KALEIDOSCOPE programme are:

- To encourage activities involving artistic creation with a European dimension;
- To support innovative cultural projects carried out by European partners;
- To contribute to the development of the professional skills of artists and other cultural operators;
- To contribute to the mutual knowledge of European cultures.

The programme comprises the following two actions under which applications can be submitted:

- Action 1: Support for events and cultural projects carried out in partnerships or through networks (concerns cultural and artistic projects jointly organized by cultural networks or by partnerships of organizations from at least three Member States, and which also involve participants from at least three Member States);

- Action 2: Large-scale European cooperation actions (concerns significant large-scale quality projects having a European dimension and a major cultural and socio-economic impact. These actions must be jointly organized by cultural networks or cultural co-organizers from at least four Member States and must involve participants from at least four Member States).

The areas covered by the programme are: the performing arts; visual or spatial arts; the applied arts and projects involving multimedia as a form of artistic expression.

Organizations from third countries may participate in KALEIDOSCOPE projects, either on the basis of the European Economic Area Agreement (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) or on the basis of individual Association or Cooperation Agreements concluded between the Community and third countries (Central and Eastern European countries, Malta and Cyprus).

Applications for Community support must be made on the official application forms.

Related information


Follow us on: RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube Managed by the EU Publications Office Top