Skip to main content
European Commission logo print header

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-02

Article available in the following languages:


Europe’s best young group leaders win EMBO support

The European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) has singled out 21 young group leaders to receive the support of its prestigious Young Investigator Programme. Selection is a mark of the highest scientific excellence and the 2006 awardees were handpicked from a pool of over 150 excellent candidates across Europe.

EMBO Young Investigators carry an influential recommendation. Selected by EMBO Members for the high standard of their research, they join a network of some of Europe’s best young life scientists. The three-year programme offers a range of benefits designed to smooth the transition between setting up independently and establishing a reputation in the scientific community. The aim is to raise the profile of the young investigators and help them to attract new collaborations and funding. Gerlind Wallon, manager of the programme, explains: “The EMBO Young Investigator Programme offers a level of support and distinction that is hard to find at this stage in a scientist’s career. It tells the scientific community and funding bodies that EMBO is convinced of the quality of your research and that’s an impressive credential.” The EMBO Young Investigator Programme supports researchers who are within four years of establishing their first independent laboratories. Benefits include networking support through a mentorship programme, annual meeting and lab exchanges, as well as professional training and an annual award of 15,000 euro. The programme has been promoting outstanding young group leaders in Europe since 2000. Currently it supports a network of 70 life scientists. 2006 EMBO Young Investigators François-Xavier Barre (FR) Cell division in bacteria CNRS Centre for Molecular Genetics, Gif-sur-Yvette Sigal Ben-Yehuda (IL) DNA damage depair in sporulation Hebrew University, Jerusalem Simon Boulton (UK) DNA damage response in C. elegans Cancer Research UK London Research Institute, South Mimms Dirk Bumann (DE) Salmonella–host interactions Hannover Medical School Jérôme Cavaille (FR) Function of non-coding RNA University of Toulouse Vincenzo Costanzo (UK) DNA damage response in Xenopus laevis Cancer Research UK London Research Institute, South Mimms François Fuks (BE) DNA methylation in mammals Free University of Brussels Johanna Ivaska (FI) Integrin traffic and signalling in cancer Turku Centre for Biotechnology Bruno Klaholz (FR) Complexes in gene expression Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), Strasbourg Jean-Christophe Marine (BE) Key modifiers of p53 Flanders Interuniversity Institute for Biotechnology (VIB), Ghent Annette Oxenius (CH) Host–pathogen interactions Institute of Microbiology, ETH Zürich Philippe Pasero (FR) Maintenance of genome integrity CNRS Institute of Human Genetics, Montpellier Maria Rescigno (IT) Dendritic cells in infection and cancer European Institute of Oncology (IEO), Milan John Rouse (UK) Regulators of genome stability MRC Protein Phosphorylation Unit, University of Dundee Dirk Schübeler (CH) Dynamics and propagation of epigenetic states Friedrich Miescher Institute, Basel Luca Scorrano (IT) Mitochondria-shaping proteins Venetian Institute of Molecular Medicine, Padova Victor Sourjik (DE) Bacterial chemotaxis ZMBH, University of Heidelberg Irina Stancheva (UK) Epigenetic silencing Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh Jussi Taipale (FI) Growth control and cancer Biocentrum, University of Helsinki Miltos Tsiantis (UK) Comparative leaf development University of Oxford Antonella Viola (IT) T-cell activation Venetian Institute of Molecular Medicine, Padova Related links About EMBO EMBO Young Investigator Programme EMBO Installation Grants


Molecular Biology


Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom