Skip to main content

Programme Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

Arctic Science Ministerial – Germany, October 2018

The White House hosted the first-ever Arctic Science Ministerial in 2016. Science Ministers from 25 governments, the European Union, and representatives from Arctic Indigenous peoples’ organizations gathered to discuss collective efforts to increase the pace of international scientific collaboration in the Arctic. The format of the Arctic Science Ministerial proved to be very appropriate to advance in sustaining research and observation programmes, with the required support from governments. The European Commission will support the organisation of the Second Arctic Science Ministerial in 2018, in cooperation with the German Government. The 2018 Arctic Science Ministerial will be the first edition to be held in the EU and will be preceded by a scientific session on the latest achievements in relation with the thematic areas that will be the subject of the Ministerial discussion, where also advances on the flagship projects presented at the 2016 Arctic Science Ministerial will be presented. The release of a new Joint Statement will be one of the main objectives of the Ministerial meeting. The EC contribution will also support the participation of representatives from Arctic Indigenous peoples’ organizations. Co-funding from the German Government and from other sponsors should be detailed in the proposal.

This activity directly aiming at supporting the development and implementation of evidence base for R&I policies, supporting various types of stakeholders and the promotion of coherent and effective cooperation with third countries is excluded from the delegation to EASME and will be implemented by the Commission services.

This grant will be awarded without call for proposals in line with Article 190(1)(e) of the Rules of applications of Regulation (EU, Euratom) 966/2012, Regulation No 1268/2012 and Article 11(2) of the Rules for participation and dissemination in ""Horizon 2020 - the Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (2014-2020)"", Regulation (EU) No 1290/2013.