Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

Fedora Workshop at FIZ Karlsruhe

Presentation of Fedora application scenarios in e-Science projects

Karlsruhe, April 2006 - Digital libraries and institutional repositories play an important part in the e-Science environment. Fedora (flexible extensible digital object repository architecture) is one of the world’s most sophisticated and powerful architectures for such applications. On May 4th and 5th, 2006, FIZ Karlsruhe will hold a workshop on the topic “Fedora Content Model“. A Content Model displays all kinds of digital objects and defines relationships between them. Thus, these objects “come to life“ and provide scientists with value-add information that could not have been obtained from traditional libraries. Present at the workshop will be Sandy Payette and Carl Lagoze of Cornell University, Virginia, USA, which, in co-operation with Virgina University, has developed the open source software Fedora. The workshop is intended for Fedora users already familiar with this software, who would like to improve their skills. They will be given the opportunity to present their projects, to ask questions, and to discuss their experiences with the other participants. It has already been decided to use Fedora in eSciDoc ( This project, jointly realised by FIZ Karlsruhe and the Max Planck Society (MPS), and sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), aims at developing an integrated information, publication and communication platform for the MPS. The results of eSciDoc will also be made available to other scientific institutions. Further information on the workshop is available at: or at the following address: FIZ Karlsruhe Matthias Razum Head ePublishing and eScience Phone: +49-7247 808-457 Fax: +49-7247 808-133 E-Mail: Press Contact: Rüdiger Mack Phone: +49- 7247/808-513 E-Mail: This press release is also available online at:


Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia