Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

Estonia becomes EMBC’s 25th member state

Estonia has officially joined the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC), EMBO’s intergovernmental funding body. Estonia’s membership began on 30 January 2006, opening the way for Estonian scientists to participate in EMBO activities and benefit from the scientific opportunities the organisation offers.

The accession of Estonia to EMBC brings the organisation’s membership to a total of 25 member states. Located throughout Europe, EMBC Member States support and finance the majority of EMBO activities. Estonia is an important addition to the intergovernmental body and extends the organisation’s representation in Central and Eastern Europe. Other EMBC Member States in the region include Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovenia and Turkey. EMBC also recently accepted an application for membership by the Slovak Republic, which now awaits formal ratification. The Estonian Minister for Education and Research was enthusiastic about Estonia’s new EMBC status: “We are delighted to have become a member of EMBC and the prestigious EMBO community. This is a remarkable opportunity to co-operate closely with top European molecular biologists in furthering this scientific discipline.” Frank Gannon, EMBO Executive Director and EMBC Secretary General commented: “Estonia already has a strong reputation in the molecular life sciences in Europe. We anticipate that it will be a significant and active member of EMBC and participate extensively in EMBO activities.” The Estonian Delegates to EMBC will be Toivo Maimets, Professor of Cell Biology at Tartu University’s Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology and Toivo Räim, Attaché for Scientific Affairs in Estonia’s Permanent Representation to the EU. EMBC Estonian Ministry of Education and Research


Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom