Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

The flooding ERA-Net (CRUE) launches first phase of research database

The Hague (Netherlands) – The CRUE ERA-Net today launched a powerful new information resource (CRUISE) that gives users instant access to the results of flooding research programmes worth more than € 430 million. Until now there has been no one-stop-shop for European countries to exchange relevant research experience on flood risk management.

CRUISE (CRUe Information System Europe) provides a web-based starting point for users interested in finding out more about European flood-related research, both at the research programme level and ultimately the individual project level. CRUISE is intended to be beneficial to a broad range of users, including policy-makers, practitioners, research funders, and the research community. CRUISE allows the user to search for flood-related information on three different levels across Europe - research programmes, funding bodies and research units. The database provides users with the opportunity to summarise key information on selected research programmes, for example programme budget, research needs, or funding body characteristics. It provides extensive contacts details and links to relevant organisations’ websites. Currently, the database comprises detailed information about more than 30 research programmes (worth € 430 million), 60 funding bodies and about 300 organisations involved with flood risk management research. Speaking at an international CRUE workshop in The Hague that brings together the policy and research communities in flood risk management, Dr Sebastian Catovsky, CRUE Project Co-ordinator said: “CRUISE provides an accessible gateway for anyone interested in finding out more about flood-related research across Europe. It will encourage greater integration of flood-related research across Member States and closer links between policy-makers, practitioners and the research community.“ The CRUE Project is co-ordinated by the UK’s Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra).


Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom