Skip to main content
European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-02

Article available in the following languages:


ERA-MED: Strengthening the European Research Area in the Mediterranean Countries

Opportunities for scientific cooperation under the Framework Programmes for Research and Technological Development between the EU and the Mediterranean region are fostered by the project ERA-MED.

The project is funded by the EU, under the International Cooperation measures (INCO) of the 6th Framework Programme, and coordinated by EKT (the National Documentation Centre of Greece, Greek NCP for FP7). The project is built upon the achievements of previous initiatives funded by the European Commission, such as the EuroMEDANet and EuroMEDANet2 projects, which stimulated the participation of the Mediterranean Countries (MPCs) in EU-funded R&D research. ERAMED includes partners from Alegria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia. For the above-mentioned MPCs an NCP Network was already established during FP6. The Palestinian partner was not a participant in the previous initiatives but is in the process of establishing its NCP. The NCPs of MPCs continue to support their researchers to participate in FP7 through a variety of activities. Among other activities, high-level workshops on the 7th Framework Programme have already been organised to stimulate the integration of the Mediterranean research potential to the European Research Area and more events are scheduled to take place in several Meditarreanean countries as follows, on the occasion of the new calls of proposals recently published under FP7: - Jordan, 8th-10th January 2008 - Egypt, 15th-17th January 2008 - Lebanon, January 2008 - Tunisia, 12th-14th Febraury 2008 - Syria, 8th-10th April 2008. Additional information and support is provided through the ERAMED FP7 e-newsletter, a short guide for participation in FP7, an FP7 events calendar and other useful documents on FP7 which are already available in the website. More information on the project can be found on its website: Source: National Documentation Centre, Greece (EKT)


Egypt, Greece, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Tunisia