European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-02

Article available in the following languages:


First successfull networking activities of EIBIR

The European Institute for Biomedical Imaging Research (EIBIR) thanks its members, project partners and supporters on all levels for making the first project activities successful.

At ECR 2008, at the prominent EIBIR Lounge, the network presented the remarkable progress it has made within the framework of the project funded by the European Commission (6th Framework Programme). 200 members throughout Europe: EIBIR has grown into a strong network, with 200 member institutions. Member institutions are able to view detailed information on other members’ expertise and have the opportunity to exchange information and are an active part of the networking activities. EIBIR Research Policy Paper: In October 2007, one of the first notable milestones was achieved: The network produced the EIBIR Research Policy Paper, detailing all activities that will be undertaken to promote the co-operation between its organisations, such as: co-ordination of multi-centre trials, publication of an event calendar for conferences and training courses, management of joint initiatives. Overall activities: EIBIR will promote networking activities within Europe and will ensure the pooling of resources among members to promote a culture of co-operation between them. This will generate critical mass and help co-ordinate research into new instrumentation, methods, concepts and technologies. EIBIR promote a multi disciplinary co-operation covering all aspects of bio medical imaging and has support from leading industry players. EIBIR will develop a structure that is conducive to networking activities and will be key to spreading good practice, promoting common initiatives and interoperability.


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom