Skip to main content
European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-02

Article available in the following languages:


Results of the FP6 Mobile Game-based Learning Project Available from SourceForge

The mGBL project (3-years FP6 project) has developed fun and exciting mobile learning games to be used by young people aged 18 – 24. The platform created to enable the respective game models is now available as Open Source under the European Public License (EUPL).

The mobile Game-Based Learning project (mGBL) consisted of eleven partner organisations from Austria, Croatia, Great Britain, Italy, and Slovenia, who joined forces to develop a platform for the presentation of playful and emotional educational content for use on mobile devices. This work was supported by the European Commission (EC) under the Information Society Technologies (IST) Programme of the Sixth Framework Programme (FP6). The primary target audience is young people aged 16-24 (a priority age-range of the EC), who regularly use mobile technologies and are interested in mobile learning games. The overall goal of the project was to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of learning in the target group of young people through the development of innovative learning models to be used as mobile games. The specific aim of the project was to design, develop and trial a prototype game platform that can be used to efficiently develop games for m-learning, whereby the focus is on the support of decision making in critical situations, not only in a cognitive way but also in an emotional sense. This platform is now available as Open Source under the European Public License (EUPL V1.0) which can be downloaded from SourceForge at Institutions and individuals interested in the project can access further information and contact the authors at


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom