Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

Want to increase the quality of your Science & Technology public support actions for SMEs ?

Want to increase the number of research contracts between regional labs and regional SMEs? Want to have more of your regional SMEs to get national and/or European funding? The Community-funded SUPER-SME project partners, amongst which the Czech Centre for Science, Technology, Society Studies (Academy of Sciences), have issued a how-to-guide on public support actions, targeting regional Science & Technology (S&T) intermediation systems.

This guide is considered as a reference in the field. It is filled with valuable insights from experienced regional actors all over Europe and explains how to increase the quality of S&T intermediation systems for SMEs. Download at: The guide has important recommendations for regional policy-makers and S&T intermediaries which are deeply rooted in reality. Indeed, project partners were not satisfied to simply analyse conditions: they have even implemented their recommendations themselves! Here is the impact they have witnessed: - Significant increase in the number of research contracts between regionally based laboratories and scientific institutes and SMEs - Significant increase in the participation of regional SMEs to nationally funded R&D programmes and to the EU RTD Framework Programme - Contribution to the implementation and updating of specific regional research, technological development and innovation policies A practical approach to S&T intermediation systems, made by regions for regions ! This project has been financed by the European Commission – DG Research under the Regions of Knowledge programme. Project coordinated by Conseil Régional de Lorraine (FR) CZ-PROJECT PARTNER: Adolf FILACEK Centre for Science, Technology & Society Studies Czech Academy of Sciences Jilska 1 11000 PRAGUE 1 Czech Republic Tel.: +420 222 220 107 Fax: +420 222 220 725 Web site:


Small and Medium Sized Companies (SMEs)


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom