Skip to main content
European Commission logo print header

Article Category


Article available in the following languages:


Palestinian Technical University established as National Contact Point through PERA project

TULKRAM, PALESTINE – In a little over a month after the completion of the "Palestine for European Research Area" PERA project, the Palestine Technical University - Kadoorie (PTUK), has announced the establishment of a National Contact Point (NCP) for environmental affairs of the Seventh Framework Programme (FP7).

The Palestinian FP7 NCP-Environment was established in coordination with the Ministry of Higher Education and the full endorsement of the Palestinian Environment Authority (PEA). The PERA project contributed directly to this achievement, which was coordinated by PTUK and concluded its activities on 30 Sep 2013 ( The accumulated experience gained by PTUK staff as a result of the PERA project, on top of enhancing capacities in Water and Energy fields, has allowed PTUK to host the FP7 NCP for environment in Palestine. Dr. Samer Najjar, the Coordinator of the project, said: “Although establishing an FP7 National Contact Point for the Environment in Palestine was part of the expected outcomes of project PERA, we are however, pleased that we have been able to achieve one of our principle objectives.” “Obviously, all the management are willing to fully support the NCP, as this great news illustrates PERA as a success story which has consequently raised PTUK’s profile in Palestine.” “By establishing the NCP, there will be the potential for a constant exchange of information at the level of both policy and best practices and communicates Palestine’s desire for continuous cooperation with the EU and FP7 programmes in general.” “My hope is that with this success, we can lead other Palestinian institutions to endeavour to forge stronger relations with the European Union in environmental issues, as both EU and Palestine share many common ambitions and challenges in this area.” ENDS


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, United Kingdom