European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-03-23

Article available in the following languages:


Launch of the CHOICE project on EU-China cooperation on ICT R&D

European and Chinese organizations gathered in Chengdu, China on January 10, 2014 to officially launch the CHOICE project, funded by the European Commission DG CONNECT through its 7th Framework Programme. The project aims to provide continuity and progress in supporting and strengthening China Collaboration on ICT research with Europe.

The CHOICE consortium is composed of a balance of Chinese and European partners, including OpenChina-ICT project partners, as well as ChinaACCESS4EU and DRAGON-STAR partners, to ensure all the valuable outputs of previous projects will be fully exploited and that synergies with relevant projects will be developed. During its two-year duration, the CHOICE project emphasis will be put on: • Identifying obstacles to reciprocity and encouraging a more balanced relationship with China based on reciprocity, especially supporting European nationals, companies and organisations willing to access Chinese research programmes; • Highlighting and showcasing both EU and Chinese excellence in ICT R&D; • Strengthening EU-China industrial ICT R&D cooperation, also with the view of preparing the ground for new upcoming rules governing EU-China ICT R&D cooperation under Horizon 2020 (H2020). Thanks to this approach, the CHOICE project will create a bridge towards H2020 and capitalize on the timely conjunction of H2020 shift away from technology driven towards innovation driven ICT R&D based on societal needs and consumer aspirations, with the Chinese Government’s firm commitment to growing domestic demand, thus emphasizing opportunities in China for the exploitation of H2020 and in particular its potential for contributing to increasing Chinese domestic demand.


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, United Kingdom