Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

The EMBC agrees to six-year budget for EMBO

The European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC) recently met in an extraordinary session to discuss the multi-annual budget for its activities. These are delivered by the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). The outcome, which was unanimously accepted, is a 33 percent increase over six years.

Earlier proposals had requested higher levels of funding in order to meet the new elements in the nine-year plan of the EMBC and to consolidate the EMBO fellowship programme. The latter has had a major increase in the number of applicants in the last year. Commenting on the outcome, the Secretary General of the EMBC and Executive Director of EMBO, Frank Gannon, said that while he shared the disappointment of some delegations about the fact that unanimity could not be obtained on a higher level of funding, he nonetheless recognized that this funding would be very helpful to European Science. Marja Makarow, President of the EMBC, echoed these feelings and expressed her appreciation that the agreement covered a six year period. It will provide stability for EMBC and for EMBO and allow them to be well placed for future developments in the European ,Research Area. Contact Professor Frank Gannon ,Executive Director,Postfach 102240 ,D-69012 Heidelberg ,Tel: 0049 6221 8891 101,Fax: 0049 6221 8891 200 ,E-mail:,http://www.embo.orgThe European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) was established in 1964 by leading scientists in the field. The aim of the organization is to promote molecular biology studies in Europe. Subsidiary to that general aim are concepts such as the development of a strong transnational approach to molecular biology, the identification of measures that can assist in the training of scientists in this area and the emphasis on scientific criteria for all of its activities. EMBOs activities are supported by the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC). The member states are: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom. Estonia and Luxembourg have been accepted as members of the EMBC and are currently in the process of formal ratification of the Intergovernmental EMBC agreement. Special provision is also made for Cyprus.