Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

New Member States at ESA

In the course of its meeting in Kiruna (Sweden) on 24 and 25 March, the ESA Council approved the accession of Greece and Luxembourg to the ESA Convention. The two countries are expected to become full members of the Agency by 1 December 2005, after their national approval procedures have been completed.

The Hellenic Republic officially applied to join ESA last October, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in December. The ESA Council unanimously approved both applications. Greece and Luxembourg were granted observer status to attend meetings of ESAs Council and all its subordinate bodies, to enable them to familiarise themselves with the Agencys procedures and working practices. For further information contact:,Media Relations Division,ESA Head Office, Paris,Tel:+33.(0)1.5369.7155,Fax:+33.(0)1.5369.7690


Greece, Luxembourg