Skip to main content
European Commission logo print header

Biosaline agroforestry: remediation of saline wastelands through the production of biosaline biomass (for bioenergy, fodder and biomaterials)


Increasing salinity is more than a threat to agricultural production alone. It contributes to desertification, disrupts socio-economic structures, causes rural exodus. Biosaline agro-forestry applies innovative approaches to salinity, using the qualities o f salt tolerant species combined with improved soil- and water management practices. Research on this subject is by far not complete and the potentials of biosaline agriculture and forestry are insufficiently investigated.

The overall objective of the B IOSAFOR project is twofold:
1. To contribute to the development of biosaline agro-forestry systems for various saline environments (local/regional approach) and parallel to that
2. To explore the potentials and options for biomass production in saline environments (globally)

More specific objectives are:
- To indicate the special role of biosaline agro-forestry for degraded areas with saline soils and/or areas with brackish water resources
- To contribute to the regeneration of saline wastelands
- To select and screen tree species for the production of biomass in specific saline environments
- To develop agro-forestry systems for biomass production in different kind of saline environments
- To assess the economic and environmental performance of selected b iosaline agro-forestry production systems
- To estimate the amount of biomass that can globally be produced in saline environments
- To assess the potential contribution of biomass from saline environments to a sustainable biomass, respectively biofuel and biomaterial supply in DEV countries and the EU
- To disseminate the results to relevant gremia (decision makers, politicians) in the EU and to organizations dealing with salinity globally especially the biosaline networks.

Call for proposal

See other projects for this call


Prins hendriklaan 15

See on map

EU contribution
€ 0,00

Participants (8)