European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results

EURIAS Fellowship Programme

Final Report Summary - EURIAS (EURIAS Fellowship Programme)

The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme started in 2010 as a new collaborative incoming mobility initiative initially gathering 14 Institutes for Advanced Study (IAS) in 12 European countries. As a response to the very high interest shown by the international research community over the years, the IAS Consortium was enlarged in the second phase of EURIAS (2014-2019) to a number of 19 Institutes in 14 countries. The EURIAS Fellowship Programme thus offers a larger choice of destinations, multiplies networking opportunities and increases its critical mass to better impact the European Research Area.

EURIAS builds on the IAS strong ability to nurture multi-disciplinary and multicultural learning communities, open intellectual spaces where fellows – released from their teaching and academic commitments – can conduct bottom-up research with the greatest possible freedom and strong support. These learning communities constitute highly conducive scientific environments. They provide permanent intellectual stimulation as a result of the daily encounters among the fellows from a wide range of disciplines, cultures and scientific traditions.

EURIAS offers 10-month fellowships that are complementary to longer mono-disciplinary and/or targeted research fellowships offered by universities or research centres. It welcomes applications from scholars in all fields of the Social Sciences and the Humanities (SSH) but it is also open to research proposals originated in life and exact sciences as long as they do not request laboratory facilities. Experienced researchers from all countries –promising researchers at early stages of their careers as well as international senior scholars– can apply simultaneously to the three IAS best suited to host their research projects. The great diversity of the academic and cultural offerings featured by the IAS included in the Consortium provides fellow candidates with a unique spectrum of choice.

EURIAS has established a common and open call for applications across 19 Institutes in Europe and a joint multidisciplinary peer-review selection procedure. In eight years of implementation, EURIAS has proven to be a European-wide gateway to the Institutes for Advanced Study, inserting the EURIAS fellows into a larger IAS community of some 500 scholars per year.

Attractiveness, visibility and contribution to the European Research Area
Over the whole Grant Agreement period, the Programme launched and managed four calls for applications and have welcome four cohorts of fellows among the IAS. The ever-growing quantity and quality of international applications submitted demonstrates that the EURIAS Fellowship Programme has achieved its potential as one of the most attractive transnational mobility programmes in Europe for the SSH. Thanks to a worldwide dissemination of the calls for applications, on average 700 scholars apply to the programme every year, indicating the strong interest of the international scientific community. The strong selection process and the high selectivity of the programme (with a 5% success rate) ensure the invitation of top-rated scholars.

Bringing a scientific community together
Over the four years of implementation four EURIAS Alumni community annual scientific conferences were held. These meetings put together fellows and representatives of the Consortium members, but also other European IAS representatives. They were opportunities for fellows to share and exchange on this one-year professional experience, and to testify of the Programme’s impact on both their research and on their professional perspectives. The EURIAS one- year rejuvenating professional experience gave the fellows a fresh perspective on their research and a boost to their careers, especially for the youngest researchers. They were able to build sound international networks in Europe, which often helped nurture international projects in Europe and contributed to the attractiveness of the ERA. The synergy in bringing the main actors of SSH into European IAS thus also had effects on the public research institutions.

List of host organisations:
• Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Denmark
• CEU - Institute for Advanced Study, Budapest, Hungary
• Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities, Cambridge, United Kingdom
• Collegium de Lyon, France
• Collegium Helveticum, Zürich, Switzerland
• Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies, Germany
• Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg Delmenhorst, Germany
• Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies, Finland
• IMéRA - Institut d’Études Avancées, Marseille, France
• Institut d’études avancées de Paris, France
• Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen, Vienna, Austria
• Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
• Israel Institute for Advanced Studies, Jerusalem, Israel
• Istituto di studi avanzati di Bologna, Italy
• Madrid Institute for Advanced Study, Spain
• Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Amsterdam, the Netherlands
• Polish Institute of Advanced Studies, Warsaw, Ploand
• Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study, Uppsala, Sweden
• Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, Germany

For more information on the Programme:
Contact person: Mylène Trouvé
EURIAS Fellowship Programme Coordinator