European Commission logo
English English
CORDIS - EU research results
Content archived on 2024-04-16



Rice is grown in five of the twelve Community Member States (Italy, Spain, Portugal, Greece and France) who together achieve an annual production of 1.3 million tonnes of milled rice. This figure would mean the Community is 90% self-sufficient in rice if all the crop were of the type required by the rice millers. However, short-grain varieties are produced far in excess of market requirements in the Community whereas 45% of consumption of long-grain Indica rice is imported from third country suppliers, mainly USA, Thailand and Surinam. In order to promote the selection and production in the Community of Indica rice, the Community pays a subsidy to growers which is based on morphological, chemical (amylose content) and cooking quality criteria.
Decisions on whether or not EEC could give aid for each proposed variety of rice are based on minimum and maximum values for each of the criteria which are contained in the Regulation. Problems were encountered in the first year of operation of the Regulation as a result of the wide variation in test results of amylose determination obtained by Community laboratories.
The determination of amylose content in rice is carried out according to ISO 6647:1987.
The objective of the project is to prepare three batches of rice reference materials having amylose contents about 15 %, 20 % (critical value in the above Regulation), and 25 %.


The 3 batches of rice reference material have been prepared. Before certification of the amylose contents is attempted, a preliminary study will be carried out during 1992 to identify any methodological problems.


Data not available

Call for proposal

Data not available


Flour Milling and Baking Research Association (FMBRA)
EU contribution
No data
WD3 5SH Rickmansworth
United Kingdom

See on map

Total cost
No data

Participants (7)