Skip to main content
European Commission logo print header

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-04-12

Article available in the following languages:


Call is now open to nominate the next recipient of the Ivano Bertini Award

The Ivano Bertini Award recognises a significant achievement in frontier research that utilises an integrative structural biology approach. The first recipient of the award was Stephen Cusack FRS, Head of EMBL Outstation in Grenoble. His work on the structure of protein-RNA complexes and proteins involved in host-pathogen responses is groundbreaking and exemplifies the power of using integrated technology approaches in research.

The Award is the first commemorating Ivano Bertini who developed powerful new methods in NMR and built up a world-class Centre for Magnetic Resonance (CERM) in Florence. CERM was in the first group of major centres in structural biology to form the core structure of Instruct. The Award of €15,000 is endowed by Bruker BioSpin which, together with Ivano, developed NMR instrumentation to broaden its application and increase measurement sensitivity. For more information and to apply, please follow the Bertini award link on the Instruct Biennial Structural Biology Conference website:


NMR, Structural Biology, Award, Scientific Award


United Kingdom