Skip to main content
European Commission logo print header

Article Category

Content archived on 2023-04-03

Article available in the following languages:


ARRAINA Project Comes to a Successful Close

The EU-funded ARRAINA project ends after five years of scientific advances and research on the development of tools required to measure and predict the effects of alternative feeds on fish metabolism and health, resulting in significant progress towards defining the nutritional requirements for the five main European farmed fish species, Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar), rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss), sea bream (Sparus aurata), seabass (Dicentrarchus labrax) and common carp (Cyprinus carpio).

The key results from the ARRAINA project can be found on the project website, in several different formats developed to ensure the transfer of knowledge from this important project to different stakeholder groups. These resources include: • Scientific publications; • A series of three technical booklets; • A biomarker database; • A key achievements booklet providing user friendly descriptions of key project results; and, • A project video which provides an overview of the project’s work. By jointly involving researchers and the key stakeholders in the aquaculture industry in Europe (feed producers, actors of the food supply chain, farmers, consumers and policy makers) in the design and assessment of these alternative feeds, the ARRAINA project has contributed towards the adoption and implementation of these innovative sustainable feeds. Which could improve the competitiveness, employment, health and environment of the EU and candidate countries. The ARRAINA website ( provides further information on all other aspects of the ARRAINA project including specific research methods and available results. For more information, contact the ARRAINA Project Coordinator, Sadasivam Kaushik (


aquaculture, fish nutrition, Atlantic salmon, rainbow trout, sea bream, sea bass, common carp, feed supplements


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom