Skip to main content

Article Category


Article available in the folowing languages:

EUREKA! Presentation to the European Parliament

EUREKA!, the pan-European research initiative, will be presented to the Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE) Committee of the European Parliament on 30 March 2005 in Brussels, Belgium.

EUREKA! has supported more than 2600 research projects with a value exceeding 22 billion, involving 11000 participants from SMEs, large enterprises and universities. EUREKA! provides a significant platform for promoting R&D and Innovation, supporting the Lisbon objectives and the creation of the European Research Area (ERA). For further information, please contact: Marta Czerniawska,ISC,Rue Wiertz, 50/28,B-1050 Brussels, Belgium,Tel.: +32 2 401 61 47,Fax: +32 2 401 68 68 ,,,http://www.eureka.beEUREKA!: A Europewide decentralised network for industrial research and development. EUREKA! is an intergovernmental initiative of 35 European countries and the European Union through which industry, research institutes and universities develop and exploit the technologies crucial to global competitiveness, pursue innovation, create jobs and a better quality of life. EUREKA! Members: The following states are currently members of EUREKA!,Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and the European Union. European Parliament Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE) is responsible for: 1. The Union's industrial policy and the application of new technologies, including measures relating to SMEs; ,2. The Union's research policy, including the dissemination and exploitation of research findings;,3. Space policy;,4. The activities of Joint Research Centre and the Central Office for Nuclear Measurements, as well as JET, ITER and other projects in the same area;,5. Community measures relating to energy policy in general, the security of energy supply and energy efficiency including the establishment and development of trans-European networks to the energy infrastructure sector;,6. The Euratom Treaty and Euratom Supply Agency; nuclear safety, decommissioning and waste disposal in the nuclear sector;,7. The information society and information technology, including the establishment and development of trans-European networks in the telecommunication infrastructure sector.