Skip to main content



The European Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Programme (EURIAS) was created in 2010 with the support of the COFUND Programme. Over the 2010-2014 period, three calls for applications led to the invitation of 92 researchers for ten-month fellowships in a consortium of 14 Institutes for Advanced Study (IAS) located in 12 European countries. The programme is open to all fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences, as well as to other disciplines provided that the research projects interface with the SSH and address crosscutting issues.

Over the four years of implementation, EURIAS quickly gained a very substantial international notoriety in the academic world, raising on average 650 applications for 30 positions a year (a 5% success rate). EURIAS contributed to structuring the IAS fellowships offer, acting as a European-wide gateway to the Institutes for Advanced Study scheme and widened the scope of the European IAS attractiveness for the best researchers to Europe —both Juniors and Seniors— via the articulation of a worldwide communication campaign, the provision of exceptional and homogenized working conditions, and a highly selective selection process.

The great diversity of the 14 IAS academic and cultural offerings provided a unique spectrum of choice to candidates. The IAS offer research and professional opportunities that are complementary to universities and research centers. They create multi-disciplinary and multicultural learning communities, open intellectual spaces where fellows —released from their teaching and academic commitments— conduct bottom-up research with the greatest possible freedom and with the IAS support. These learning communities provide permanent intellectual stimulation as a result of the daily encounters among the fellows from a wide range of disciplines, cultures and scientific traditions. And the many activities carried out by the researchers with the support of the host IAS (in terms of work conditions, organization of events and academic networking) further widen their intellectual, scientific and professional horizons. IAS constitute experimental spaces where, for an academic year, researchers can stray from the customary paths of their disciplines and nurture new transdisciplinary collaborations to be developed.

The EURIAS one-year rejuvenating professional experience gave the fellows a fresh perspective on their research and a boost to their careers, especially for the youngest researchers. They were able to build sound international networks in Europe, which often helped nurture international projects in Europe and contributed to the attractiveness of the ERA. The synergy in bringing the main actors of SSH into European IAS thus also had effects on the public research institutions.

List of host institutions :
- Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, Germany
- Istituto di Studi Avanzati, Bologna, Italy
- Flemish Academic Centre for Science and the Arts, Brussels, Belgium
- New Europe College, Bucarest, Romania
- Central European University Institute for Advanced Study, Budapest, Hungary
- Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities, Cambridge, United Kingdom
- Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Study, Finland
- Israel Institute for Advanced Study, Jerusalem, Israel
- Collegium de Lyon, France
- Institut d’études avancées de Nantes, France
- Institut d’études avancées de Paris, France
- Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study, Uppsala, Sweden
- Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen, Vienna, Austria
- The Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study, Wassenaar, The Netherlands

EURIAS Fellowship Programme
contact person:
+33 1 49 54 21 49